Cookies help us to provide our website. By using the website, you agree that we set cookies.

SAP S/4Finance Readiness Check at Zalando

September 20, 2018

In only a few years and with a turnover of EUR 4.5 billion, Zalando has become a dominant fashion online retailer, corresponding with significant data volumes and complex processes on the information technology side. For the merchandise processes and at the customer interface Zalando relies on in-house developed systems, while the finance area is run with SAP FI and SAP FI-CA. A modified SAP solution, strongly tailored to Zalando’s requirements, is used for the cash management.

Zalando entrusted consenso with a feasibility analysis for an S/4 Finance introduction to replace the existing SAP ERP system as well as an estimation for the appropriate project scope and required resources.

As a result, all components and processes concerned by this question were examined, and risks and dependencies to further projects were estimated. On the sidelines, the planning implications (BPC – Business Planning and Consolidation) were also discussed.

In this context, consenso started the discussion on the suitable introduction approach – green field vs. brown field – as an essential preliminary decision for the economic benefits.

consenso’s S/4HANA Finance feasibility study focused on the following aspects:

  • General technical prerequisites for the implementation
  • Interfaces
  • Customer-specific programming
  • Master data
  • Financial processes (general ledger, accounts receivable, accounts payable, asset accounting, controlling, ERP reporting, consolidation, banking, treasury, cash and liquidity management)
  • Analytics
  • Evaluation SAP Fiori apps
  • Project portfolio – considerations and dependencies

The study confirmed the valuation that the feasibility of a technical system migration is given. Furthermore, it was found that the processes have to be reassessed from a sustainable and growth-oriented perspective, also considering changes in the SAP architecture. In the course of the project and in discussion with the business departments, the added value of a green field approach became clear: existing, suboptimal solutions are no longer pursued, technological solutions with less compromises can be realised, business processes can be reconsidered and led to better solutions. The added value of a software solution does not only come from itself, but from the optimisation of the business model using the appropriate software at its best. One example is SAP CO-PA. In the past, CO-PA could not be used by retailers, but today, they can also apply it very efficiently in an SAP S/4Finance context.

The project’s extensive findings are also documented in the fact that Zalando has now started even more comprehensive architectural considerations.

 

From our competence centre Financial Management
Categories: SAP S/4Finance | SAP HANA | S/4 Readiness Check

Cookies helfen uns bei der Bereitstellung unserer Website. Durch die Nutzung der Website erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.

SAP S/4Finance Readiness Check bei Zalando

20.09.2018

Zalando ist mit 4,5 Mrd. Euro Umsatz in nur wenigen Jahren zum dominanten Fashion Online Retailer geworden, was auf der informationstechnischen Seite mit erheblichen Datenvolumina und komplexen Prozessen korrespondiert. Zalando setzt für die Prozesse der Warenwirtschaft und an der Schnittstelle zum Kunden auf eigenentwickelte Systeme, während im Finance-Bereich SAP FI und SAP FI-CA zum Einsatz kommen. Für das Cash Management wird eine stark auf die Bedürfnisse von Zalando zugeschnittene, modifizierte SAP-Lösung eingesetzt.

consenso wurde von Zalando beauftragt, eine Feasibility-Analyse für eine S/4HANA Finance-Einführung als Ersatz für das bestehende SAP ERP-System durchzuführen und den erforderlichen Projektumfang und die benötigten Ressourcen zu schätzen.

Im Ergebnis wurden sämtliche von der Fragestellung betroffenen Komponenten und Prozesse untersucht und die Risiken und Abhängigkeiten zu anderen Projekten geschätzt. Am Rande wurden auch die Implikationen für die Planung (BPC - Business Planning and Consolidation) problematisiert.

In diesem Zusammenhang stieß consenso die Diskussion darüber an, die Art der Einführung – Greenfield vs. Brownfield – als wesentliche Vorentscheidung für den betriebswirtschaftlichen Nutzen zu hinterfragen.

Die S/4HANA Finance-Feasibility-Studie der consenso hat folgende Aspekte untersucht:

  • Generelle technische Voraussetzungen für die Einführung
  • Schnittstellen
  • Kundenspezifische Programmierungen
  • Stammdaten
  • Finanzprozesse (General Ledger, Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Asset Accounting, Controlling, ERP Reporting, Consolidation, Banking, Treasury, Cash and Liquidity Management)
  • Analytics
  • Evaluierung SAP Fiori-Apps
  • Projektportfolio-Überlegungen und Abhängigkeiten

Die Untersuchung hat die Einschätzung bestätigt, dass die Machbarkeit einer technischen
Systemmigration gegeben ist. Des Weiteren hat sich ergeben, dass die Prozesse aus einer
nachhaltigen und wachstumsorientierten Perspektive, welche auch die Veränderungen in der SAP-Architektur berücksichtigt, überdacht werden müssen. Im Zuge des Projektverlaufes wurde dann in Diskussion mit den Fachbereichen aufgezeigt, welcher Mehrwert einem Greenfield-Ansatz zugrunde liegen kann: Bestehende, suboptimale Lösungen werden nicht weiter verfolgt, technologische Lösungen mit weniger Kompromissen können realisiert, Geschäftsabläufe hinterfragt und besseren Lösungen zugeführt werden. Der Mehrwert einer Softwarelösung kommt nicht nur aus dieser selbst, sondern aus der Optimierung des Geschäftssystems unter Einsatz von Software, deren Möglichkeiten optimal genutzt werden. Als Beispiel kann hier SAP CO-PA genannt werden. Während CO-PA in der Vergangenheit bei Retailern nicht einsetzbar war, ist die effiziente Nutzung in einem SAP S/4Finance-Kontext nun auch bei Retailern möglich.

Die weitreichenden Erkenntnisse des Projekts dokumentieren sich auch darin, dass Zalando nun in umfassendere Architekturüberlegungen eingestiegen ist.

 

Aus unserem Competence Center Financial Management
Rubriken: SAP S/4Finance | SAP HANA | S/4 Readiness Check